Page added to clipboard.

Dr. Jeffrey Bruce Named New Secretary of Board of Neurosurgeons

Dr. Jeffrey Bruce
Dr. Jeffrey Bruce

Congratulations are in order for Columbia Neurosurgeon, Dr. Jeffrey Bruce who has been named the next Secretary of the American Board of Neurological Surgeons (ABNS).

“The American Board of Neurological Surgeons plays a crucial role in enhancing public health by improving the field of neurosurgery and ensuring that neurosurgeons provide the highest level of care,” says Dr. Bruce. “I am honored that the board has provided me this opportunity to serve.”

The ABNS provides certification to neurosurgeons who have completed an approved educational program and passed their rigorous examinations, both oral and written. They also provide a Maintenance of Certification program.

There are 14 directors, all board certified neurosurgeons, elected to the Board and each serves for a single six-year term. Four of the 14 directors are given positions as officers including Chairman, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer.

The Secretary has the most important role since he/she is responsible for facilitating all functions of the Board. Several other Columbia Neurosurgeons have served as Directors including: Dr. Robert Solomon, Dr. Donald Quest, and Dr. E. Sander Connolly, who is still serving on the board.

To learn more about Dr. Jeffrey Bruce, see his bio page here.

patient journey

Use this button to save pages to your clipboard for future use.

OK. Got it.